Project 2

The tool that I used to create a podcast was Adobe Audition. Overall, I thought that Adobe Audition was very easy and user-friendly, especially for those who have used Adobe products like Premiere Pro in the past.

I created a podcast called “Behind the Mask” and in the first episode, I interviewed my cousin who is part of the furry community, and my aunt, who attended a convention with my cousin. I was originally going to do a cooking podcast, but when my source bailed on the interview last minute, I had to quickly pivot, which is why I don’t have noises from the exact convention. To make up for the lack of convention noises, I placed emotion-filled music throughout the episode so that the audience has an emotional reaction to hearing about the community that my cousin has joined.

Through my last two co-ops in podcasting, I’ve learned how to write scripts, interview for audio, edit audio, and put in emotion-inflicting music. I implemented all of these into this podcast.

Adobe Audition was easy to learn because I had used Premiere before, but my one large critique is that it was hard to figure out how to export the audio. To export, I had to export it to Premiere and then export it from Premiere. This was not clear, but once I figured it out it was easy to export.

Overall I really liked Adobe Audition and would recommend it to anyone for an easy-to-learn product. The basic tools (crop, move, and delete) were all very visible at the top, and as soon as you open Audition for the first time, the user is greeted with a quick tutorial. The tool basics can be learned in a matter of minutes, and you can even record audio in Audition. It’s best for creating multitrack podcasts, music and audiobooks.

Leave a comment